The 34th annual Metromint Giro di San Francisco was a big success!

Once again, the streets of San Francisco were full of fast and furious cyclists, all with the hopes of earning the top spot on the podium. The Giro has a history of accomplished riders who have crossed the finish line first for the coveted podium position, including Metromint?s own Jane Robertson in 2007. This year, Andy Jaques-Maynes and Martina Patella won the honors of Giro Champion in their respective Pro/1/2 categories.

Metromint cycling had its share of success stories this year as well. Brianna Hand won the woman?s category 3 race, claiming, ?It was so incredibly satisfying to come across that finish line first, at our home race, after a season of so many close calls.? Despite feeling bad for the first half of the race, Brianna was able to turn up the heat at the end of the race and come out on top in a sprint finish. ?I got an amazing leadout, came into the final corner second wheel, and just drilled it to the finish line from there.?

Other Metromint successes were Laurie Simonson, who finished in 4th place in the woman?s 3 category, and Pat Pecknold, who finished 2nd in the Master?s 45+ category.

Metromint employees and cyclists worked hard to put on such an exciting and spectator friendly race. A huge thanks goes out to all the hard-working volunteers who helped by marshaling the course, preparing for the race, and gathering sponsors. Also, Thanks to the Lombardi?s cycling team for helping tremendously with setup and takedown of the race and Velo Promo for co-sponsoring the race. Finally, the race could never have taken place without Metromint and the supportive sponsors of Metromint Cycling.

Thank you all for a great race!